Tags

, , , ,

I have a special treat in store for you! An author interview! Sorry I couldn’t control my excitement because it’s a first here on this site. During this crazy journey to publication, you meet all kinds of people. Some you hit it off with, find a common bond, and forge friendships. Others not so much.  I’ll let you guess which part of that equation Young Adult author, Rebekah L. Purdy, is on. But before you do that, let’s put her in the hot seat and get to know her a little better shall we?

What is your favorite paranormal creature and why?

OMG, do I have to pick just one? LOL. Hmmm. This is hard. Because, I really have 3 favorites: Vampire, Shifter, and Fae. But I think I’d have to go with the Fairy/Fae. I just love the folklore behind them. The power and immortality. They can be both good and bad.

Oooh, Joey lurves you if you love the Fae, but I will refrain from hugging you until I know if you would run with Seelie or Unseelie. (That would be good or evil, light or dark for those unversed in Fae lingo). Next question. If you could have any power, what would it be?

The power to heal. I know, that sounds kind of crazy, but I think it’d be awesome to cure the sick. And it’d cut down on doctor bills (LOL).

So far I have you as a Fae Healer-Court still unknown. Let’s play a game of then and now.

What was your favorite book as a teenager? Which one is it now?

Okay, I totally can’t decide on the books, but my two favorite series as a teen were The Forbidden Game Series and The Secret Circle series by L.J. Smith, and I also LOVED The Lifeguard and Teacher’s Pet by Richie Tankersley Cusick. As an adult, I still love those same books. I think The Secret Circle will always be one of my favorites. However, I’d have to add The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, How I live Now by Meg Rosoff, Twilight by Stephenie Meyer, and the Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning to that list.

Of that list I’ve only read Twilight and the Fever series (I want Jericho’s cars). Favorite song from your youth? Now?

This totally made me laugh, because when I was younger, I was obsessed with New Kids on the Block. So I’d have to say my fave song from back then was The Right Stuff or Please Don’t Go Girl. Now, I’d have to say any song by Skillet, Colbie Caillat, or Ray Lamontagne.

NKOTB? Didn’t they send girls into fits of screaming? They were before my time so I wouldn’t know. *Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh- Oh, oh, oh, oh -Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh The right stuff* Oh sorry I just had bad flashback of acid washed jeans and L.A. Gear tennies. I already know the answer to this, but favorite movie then and now?

It might surprise you to know that it is….wait for it….wait for it…Duh-dunh, dunh, dadada dun, dun. STAR WARS!!!! With Goonies in a close 2nd.

These aren’t the authors you’ve been looking for. Before we continue you have to do the “Truffle Shuffle”. *Rebekah is belly dancing her heart out, she must really love her Joey to go through all this torture.* If you could have any hero as your boyfriend when you were in highschool who would it be? (Can be from then or now.)

Man am I indecisive, I can’t pick just one of anything (LOL). Probably Adam from The Secret Circle or Jericho Barrons from The Fever Series. Both are kick butt, and massively hot!

Are you willing to share? Just asking because well…. there’s a line to get to Jericho. I forgot to mention that earlier. Well there’s no point in arguing with me now. What is the one thing you used to do to escape the world?

I read, write, and travel. Okay, I know, I totally can’t count. But seriously, those are the things that best help me to “get away” so to speak. Reading lets your imagination take you into the story, and hang out with the characters in cool places. Writing, is the same thing, only I’m in charge of creating “the perfect” get away. And traveling, well it’s inspiring.

Perhaps a trip to the land that has inspired many Fairy/Fae mythology is in order. We’ll talk later on that over coffee or hot chocolate. If you could live in a book, which one would it be?

This might surprise you, but probably Pride and Prejudice. All I can say is “Mr. Darcy.” LOL.

I should hang my head in shame because I don’t remember ever reading Pride and Prejudice. I’m putting it on my list though. Okay, I think you’ve now earned the right to share a little about your book. You’ll have to pull out all the stops though.

First of all, before I give you the blurb, let me just say that my book “My Dad’s a Paranormal Investigator: Seeking Shapeshifters” has a little bit of everything in it. Paranormal/supernatural elements, humor, romance, some action scenes, ghost hunting, big foot hunting, shifter hunting (LOL). So yeah, something for everyone. My biggest goal, to make the reader have fun. And I promise, you’ll at least come away with a smile.

Blurb:

Sixteen year old Ima Berry (pronounced I’m a) leads anything but a normal life. For starters, the ridiculous name her eccentric dad gave her is always the opening for a good joke. Not to mention the fact he makes his living as a supernatural investigator, which has them moving around every few months. It’s hard to hang out with new friends when she spends all her time trying to prove the existence of Bigfoot, ghosts, fairies and any other number of paranormal creatures. Unfortunately, the cases always end in disaster. That is until now.

On a whim, Ima’s father decides to move them to Point Hope, Alaska. Here, he plans to investigate the possibility of shifters amongst the Inuit tribes. Ima isn’t thrilled with the move, until she meets an Inuit guy named Carsen. Not only is he hot, but he’s also a star basketball player, and he’s interested in her. Too bad his best friend, Talon, doesn’t like her and takes every opportunity he can to discourage the relationship. Ima has no idea what she’s done to make him mad, but there’s no denying the strange connection between them.

As things grow more serious with Carsen, Ima uncovers a secret about him and some of the residents of Point Hope. A secret that will force her to choose between her father’s already dwindling career and her new found love. And with the knowledge of this secret comes danger…a danger that could cost them their lives.

Well I guess you can figure out that Rebekah and I fall on the friend side (except when we are fighting over Ian Somerhalder)  and I think she’s more than proven herself worthy of being in the Seelie Court. If you would like to know more about my dear friend and her work, you can find her at

http://rebekahlpurdy.wordpress.com/

Her book is available from Astraea Press

