I am seriously trying hard to catch it. This year’s been more of a challenge than years past. No matter how hard I try, the Christmas bug has failed to bite me. Do I not taste as sweet? Well even without the bug doing it’s part, I am really giving it a shot. I mean really, have you ever seen anything as fabulous as this home made Peppermint Bark? This was my first year making it. It tastes as good as it looks. (I know this because I can’t be in the kitchen cooking or baking without sampling the goods.

This was so easy. Wish I could say the same for my mini eggnog cakes. They didn’t want to release from the pan and my frosting gave me trouble. Story of my holiday season. Oh which reminds me….my first embarrassment of the season has officially occurred. I was in Starbuck’s with my sister and while waiting for the drinks, I was browsing their cups. One had this cute little saying on it and I picked it up and started towards where she was last standing, reading the cup and not watching where I was going. I reached a person I believed was my sister, stopped, kept reading (still not looking up) and suddenly my sister says.. “Joey, I’m over here.”

I glance up, then to my left to see I’d stopped right next to a guy waiting in line to order. He was very polite and while I was giggling uncontrollably from embarrassment, I couldn’t help but notice that he was kinda cute. Ah well, such is life. I crawled into a hole while my darling sister had her entertainment for the evening.

‘Tis the season!

 

